March 22nd, 2024


Archive:

2024.03.22 - Gallery overhaul

Well, things have been really quiet lately, mostly because I've had strong depressive episodes and as a result didn't have the energy or motivation to draw anything. I'm slowly getting better, but I still can't say when I'll be back in action properly again. That said, I've been working on the website in the meantime, and with help from my friend Double Pleb I was finally able to do some backend work on the website!

The biggest one is that I've completely overhauled the gallery and the individual image pages, adding things like links to previous/next images and any additional variants, thanks to a bit of JavaScript I was able to separate certain elements into individual files that are then inserted as necessary. This does mean that the website now requires JavaScript to function properly, but if I have to choose between not having to manually edit 200 pages every time I need to change some element that's the same between all of them, or making the website inaccessible to a minority of people who disable all javascript (even though I'm usually the same), I'll obviously choose the former. The scripts themselves are pretty minimal and shouldn't have any performance impact.

I still need to create proper articles about my setting and characters, as well as pretty up the website's design, but I wanted to do all the tedious work first, especially since I'll need to draw all the new assets first. I also plan to include some more fanart from friends that I remembered about later, as well as create a page for fanfics I've received of my characters, so stay tuned!


Archive: